(Herein referred to as Division 8 or Division)
Revised September 18, 2015

Article I – Authority and Purpose

Section 1. The authority for the By-Laws is derived from the Constitution of the Texas Gulf Division under Article VI entitled “BY-LAWS”.
As determined by the LONE STAR REGION, Division 8 consists of the following 26 (Twenty-six) Texas counties: Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Grimes, Harden, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, Walker, Waller, and Wharton

Section 3. The purposes of the By-Laws are to:
Set down rules which are to be followed in regulating the general affairs of the Division. Advise the rights, duties and powers of the Membership and its Officers in relation to the Division and among themselves.

Article II – Membership and Fees

Section 1. Membership: Any member in good standing of the NMRA who lives within the geographical boundaries of the region (with the exception of Legacy members or Corporate members) as established by the NMRA, will be a member of the Lone Star Region and the respective division of the Lone Star Region. Only those members who reside within said geographical boundaries will be allowed to vote on issues within the region. No persons may be members of the Lone Star Region, or any division within the region, unless they are members in good standing of the NMRA and no persons may be members of a division unless they are members of the region. The categories as defined by the NMRA are Member, Family Member, Student Member, Patron Member, and Corporate Member. The same member opportunities available to NMRA member groups will be afforded to the LSR members.
Any Division within the Lone Star Region may establish a fee to cover the costs associated with maintaining the business of the Division, so long as those fees are not considered a prerequisite for membership in the Division

Article III – Committees and Other Appointments

Section 1. The President shall make appointments to the following Committees and Posts:

Contest Committee: Shall be responsible for the administration of all Division contests. The Contest Chairperson shall be responsible for setting contest rules, appointing judges, obtaining and presenting contest trophies, ribbons and other awards.

Achievement Committee: Shall be responsible for the administration and encouragement of the NMRA Achievement Program within Division 8.

Auditing Committee: Shall audit the books of the Treasurer, and make its report at the annual business meeting.

Membership Committee: Shall actively pursue ways to expand the membership of the Division, The Lone Star Region, and the National Model Railroad Association.

Public Relation Committee: (to be defined later)

Historian: Shall be responsible for the assembly and preservation of event records for the Texas Gulf Division/Division 8.

Parliamentarian: Shall advise the President on procedure and have on hand at all annual business meetings a copy of “Robert’s Rules of Order (revised)”.

Such other committees and appointment may be made by the President or Board of Directors as is deemed necessary.

Article IV – Duties of Officers

Section 1. President: The President shall perform the usual duties of such office. The
President shall serve as the presiding officer of the Board of Directors and preside at all Division 8 events. The President shall serve no more than two (2) consecutive terms as President. There are no term limits on other Division offices.

Section 2. Vice President: The Vice President shall aid and assist the President in all ways possible. He shall preside in the absence of the President at meetings and events. If the of President’s office becomes vacant, the Vice President shall automatically assume the vacated office,
and the Board of Directors shall elect a new Vice President to fill the unexpired term.

Section 3. Secretary: The Secretary shall keep minutes of all meetings of the Texas Gulf Division Board of Directors and general membership meetings. The minutes shall be kept in a substantially bound book in order that a permanent record may be kept. The minutes shall be read at the next Division 8 meeting or Board of Directors meeting. An e-mail copy of the minutes to the membership may be made upon written request.

Section 4. Treasurer: Shall Keep a record of all funds received and paid out by Division 8. Accept all moneys due to the Texas Gulf Division and deposit all funds in the Division 8 checking account in a timely manner. Disbursement of all funds will be by check only, with two (2) authorized signatures required on each check. If two (2) signatures cannot be had, then an e-mail from the Division 8 President to the Treasurer authorizing the disbursement of payment and shall act as a second signature. A copy of the check and e-mail shall be kept for the records. No special accounts shall be set aside, however, the general fund shall reflect advertising revenue, patches, decals, car sales, other income and donations. Obtain Certificates of deposit and carry out other financial duties as directed by the Board of Directors. Prepare and present a financial statement and income statement for the past year at the annual business meeting. Cooperate with the Auditing Committee.

Article V – LSR Conventions held within Division 8, and Funding thereof:

The Convention shall be hosted, planned, managed, and conducted by any local model railroad group or organization within The Texas Gulf Division/Division 8. With the approval of the Division 8 Board of Directors, the prospective host group or organization shall present its bid to the Board of Directors of The Lone Star Region for their approval and selection.

Upon the approval by the Lone Star Region of the Texas Gulf Division/Division 8’s bid, Division 8 may make available a loan, not to exceed two thousand five hundred dollars ($2500.00) for early convention expenses and deposits. One thousand dollars ($1000.00) of the loan may be requested by the Host Group not earlier than two years prior to the Convention. An additional loan not to exceed one thousand five hundred dollars ($1500.00) may be requested not earlier than one year prior to the Convention. Requests for advance loans from Division 8 are to be addressed to the Division 8 President who, with the approval of the Division 8 Board of Directors, will coordinate and authorize the disbursement. If the Host Group obtains any loan in any amount from Division 8, said Group is NOT PERMITTED to request or receive a loan from the LSR unless all loans from Division 8 have been repaid in full.

These Advance Expense Loans are to be repaid to the Division 8 within thirty (30) days following the close of the convention, and before any distributions of profits derived from the Convention are made.

EXCEPTION TO THE ABOVE: If Division 8 itself is the Host Group, it may use funds of its own treasury in any amount deemed necessary for convention expenses, subject to approval by the Division 8 Board of Directors.

Any financial loss incurred relative to convention activities by Division 8 or its designated Host Group shall be addressed in accordance with LSR by-laws.

Article VI – The Lone Star Region Board Member

The Texas Gulf Division/Division 8 Lone Star Region Board Member shall represent the Texas Gulf Division/Division 8 interests at the Lone Star Region Board of Directors Meetings. Furthermore, he/she shall represent the interests of the independent Division 8 membership who have no club affiliation on the Texas Gulf Division/Division 8 Board of Directors

Amended Sept. 18, 2015 JL, LN & CL